Appointment of non-permanent judge from another common law jurisdiction of Court of Final Appeal

Chief Justice Andrew Cheung, Chief Justice of the Court of Final Appeal, today (May 8) welcomed the acceptance by the Chief Executive of the recommendation of the Judicial Officers Recommendation Commission on the appointment of the Honourable Sir William Gillow Gibbes Austen Young as a non-permanent judge from another common law jurisdiction of the Court of Final Appeal. The Chief Justice noted that the Government would be seeking the endorsement of the Legislative Council of the recommended appointment.

The Hong Kong Court of Final Appeal Ordinance (Cap. 484) provides for a list of non-permanent Hong Kong judges and a list of judges from other common law jurisdictions. Currently, there are four non-permanent Hong Kong judges and five nonpermanent judges from other common law jurisdictions. The maximum number of nonpermanent judges is 30. In hearing and determining an appeal, the Court of Final Appeal is constituted by five judges, i.e. the Chief Justice, three permanent judges and one nonpermanent Hong Kong judge or one non-permanent judge from another common law jurisdiction.

The recommended appointment of Sir William Young to the Hong Kong Court of Final Appeal will increase the number of non-permanent judges from other common law jurisdictions from five to six. This will provide greater flexibility in dealing with the caseload of the Court of Final Appeal.

Ends/Thursday, May 8, 2025 Issued at HKT 17:05