The Chief Executive has accepted the recommendations of the Chief Justice to extend for a period of three years the term of office of two non-permanent judges of the Court of Final Appeal, consisting of one non-permanent Hong Kong judge and one judge from another common law jurisdiction:

Non-Permanent Hong Kong Judge: (for three years commencing October 25, 2015) Mr Justice Syed Kemal Shah Bokhary

Non-Permanent Judge from Another Common Law Jurisdiction: (for three years commencing October 1, 2015) Lord Phillips of Worth Matravers

The Hong Kong Court of Final Appeal Ordinance provides for a list of non-permanent Hong Kong judges and a list of judges from other common law jurisdictions. The term of appointment of such judges is three years. That term may be extended for one or more periods of three years by the Chief Executive acting in accordance with the recommendation of the Chief Justice.

Ends/Friday, September 18, 2015 Issued at HKT 17:00