Appointment of non-permanent judge from another common law jurisdiction of Court of

Final Appeal

Chief Justice Andrew Cheung Kui-nung, Chief Justice of the Court of Final

Appeal, today (March 25) welcomed the acceptance by the Chief Executive of the

recommendation of the Judicial Officers Recommendation Commission on the

appointment of the Honourable James Leslie Bain Allsop as a non-permanent judge from

another common law jurisdiction of the Court of Final Appeal. The Chief Justice noted

that the Government would be seeking the endorsement of the Legislative Council of the

recommended appointment.

The Hong Kong Court of Final Appeal Ordinance (Cap. 484) provides for a list of

non-permanent Hong Kong judges and a list of judges from other common law

jurisdictions. Currently, there are four non-permanent Hong Kong judges and nine non-

permanent judges from other common law jurisdictions. The maximum number of non-

permanent judges is 30. In hearing and determining an appeal, the Court of Final Appeal

is constituted by five judges, i.e. the Chief Justice, three permanent judges and one non-

permanent Hong Kong judge or one non-permanent judge from another common law

jurisdiction.

The recommended appointment of Mr Allsop to the Hong Kong Court of Final

Appeal will increase the number of non-permanent judges from other common law

jurisdictions from nine to 10. This will provide greater flexibility in dealing with the

caseload of the Court of Final Appeal.

Ends/Monday, March 25, 2024

Issued at HKT 18:01