The Chief Justice of the Hong Kong Court of Final Appeal, Mr Andrew Cheung

Kui-nung, notes with regret the resignations of Lord Reed of Allermuir and Lord Hodge,

respectively the President and Deputy President of the UK Supreme Court, as Non-

Permanent Judges (NPJs) of the Hong Kong Court of Final Appeal (CFA).

Under the Basic Law, the power of final adjudication of the Hong Kong Special

Administrative Region is vested in the CFA, which may as required invite judges from

other common law jurisdictions to sit on the Court. Two serving members of the UK's

highest court have served as NPJs of the CFA since its establishment pursuant to an

agreement reached in 1997 by former Chief Justice of the CFA, Mr Andrew Li Kwok-

nang, with the then Lord Chancellor. Throughout the years, they have made valuable

contributions to the work of the Court for which we in Hong Kong are grateful.

The Chief Justice reiterates the Judiciary's commitment to upholding the rule of

law and judicial independence in Hong Kong guaranteed under the Basic Law. All judges

and judicial officers will continue to abide by the Judicial Oath and administer justice in

full accordance with the law, without fear or favour, self-interest or deceit. This

commitment is wholly unaffected by the departure of the two judges.

There are currently four local NPJs and 10 NPJs (after the resignations of Lord

Reed and Lord Hodge) from other common law jurisdictions in the CFA. Lord Reed and

Lord Hodge last sat on the Court in the second half of 2021 respectively and neither have

been scheduled to sit in 2022.

Ends/Wednesday, March 30, 2022

Issued at HKT 20:27